RMM possibilities?

Use this forum to discuss about anything you want, post announcements and informational topics.
Forum rules
We have no special rules for UVK forums. Just try to be polite and clear in your posts.
Please don't post spam in this forum. Spammers will be banned by IP, e-mail and username.
We reserve the right to delete all posts and ban all users we consider not having respected these rules without warning.
Xander

RMM possibilities?

Post by Xander »

I'm sure Fred has plenty on his plate but good programmers are few and far between.

I've been using Comodo One as an RMM for the last several months and, while it's not bad, it's still got a lot to work on before I'd consider it a really good RMM option but then I thought about how little I'd really need -- basic monitoring and alerts, some scheduled tasks that will catch up if the PC is offline, and maybe some form of reporting when things go wrong (or maybe monthly reports that everything's gone right). If it were UVK-based, it could do auto-uninstalls of blacklisted software and system boosting, etc.

Fred, have you given any thought to something like this. The "other software" had something akin to this but it was a mess to set up and manage.
Charger440

Re: RMM possibilities?

Post by Charger440 »

First off, Fred, are you and the family OK? I know there was a significant earthquake near you.

Xander and I have not been collaborating on this and as far as I know he don't know I've asked you about it few times. It does seem that we agree on this one. I know you are focusing on C++ UVK and I think that is an awesome way to lay the ground work for an RMM. I know there are lots of RMM packages out there, trust me, I have demoed most of them that was even remotely affordable to me. They all have at least 3 things in common.

1) They are expensive. Most have a $250 a month minimum, some even higher than that and still others want you to pay a fee in order to pay them the monthly price.