Page 1 of 1

Rebootexec - could it run the watermark without the parameter?

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2021 6:18 pm
by Xander
I thought I'd use it for remote jobs - send it over for its 'at a glance' info but it seems to need to be run with a "-desktopwatermark" parameter. But it doesn't seem to do anything when called without any parameters (I'm assuming it has other functions).

Could the watermark usage be its default? So, if run by itself, it displays the little window?

I tried a workaround of putting it in a winrar SFX file but that flags the antiviruses and, more importantly, Win10's Defender jumped on it. Interestingly, on virustotal, rebootexec flags none but if it's the only file in an SFX, a whole bunch go off.

Re: Rebootexec - could it run the watermark without the parameter?

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2021 8:33 pm
by Fred
RebootExec does a lot of things. Besides many commands that are executed on reboot, it also contains the code for Desktop Watermark, Stop Resetting My Apps, Multiple Reboot Scheduler, Account Profile Fixer, Configure Immunization and others. When executed without command line parameters it will show a dialog box letting users select the desired app to run. I'm sure you'll be happy with this.
rebootexec.png
rebootexec.png (11.47 KiB) Viewed 258 times

Re: Rebootexec - could it run the watermark without the parameter?

Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2021 3:54 pm
by Xander
How is it that I've tried running it a bunch of times and I've never seen that window? Tried it again on two PCs and it didn't show a window.

I've run MRS and APF on different machines as portable apps, copying over no other files and they've never complained that Rebootexec was not present.

Do you mean by "it *will* show a dialog" that you're talking about a future version of it?

Re: Rebootexec - could it run the watermark without the parameter?

Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:14 pm
by Fred
Hi Xander. Sorry I didn't get a notification about your last post.

Yes, I created that dialog box in the last update. It's working fine for me.

MRS and APF do not depend on RebootExec. But RebootExec contains their code, so it can do all the things they do.