Windows 10 safe mode wireless networking

This forum is intended for computer technicians only. Post IT related topics here.
Forum rules
We have no special rules for UVK forums. Just try to be polite and clear in your posts.
Please don't post spam in this forum. Spammers will be banned by IP, e-mail and username.
We reserve the right to delete all posts and ban all users we consider not having respected these rules without warning.
Post Reply
wmmiller
Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:02 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Windows 10 safe mode wireless networking

Post by wmmiller »

How do you guys handle Windows 10 safe mode wireless networking?

Bill
Play stupid games….win stupid prizes
Charger440
Posts: 1528
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 7:44 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Windows 10 safe mode wireless networking

Post by Charger440 »

I'm not sure what you mean Bill?
Jim

It is not "Can it be done?" but rather, "How can we do it?"
wmmiller
Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:02 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Windows 10 safe mode wireless networking

Post by wmmiller »

It doesn't work in Windows 10
Play stupid games….win stupid prizes
reggaemanu
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: Windows 10 safe mode wireless networking

Post by reggaemanu »

Well it does work but doesn't connect automatically.

You can try to run netsh connect
https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/lib ... k_wlanConn
Fred
Site Admin
Posts: 2322
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:05 pm
Location: Red coast, France
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 safe mode wireless networking

Post by Fred »

Or you could use the WLAN profiles manager to connect.

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=947&p=2885&hilit=wl ... ager#p2885
The only thing we humans have in common is that we are all different. So, if you think you're weird because you're different from everyone else, then we are all weird.

Fred
wmmiller
Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:02 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Windows 10 safe mode wireless networking

Post by wmmiller »

Ok. I should have said on a remote reboot. If I have the computer I just plug it in.
Play stupid games….win stupid prizes
reggaemanu
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: Windows 10 safe mode wireless networking

Post by reggaemanu »

Fred wrote:Or you could use the WLAN profiles manager to connect.

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=947&p=2885&hilit=wl ... ager#p2885
Never seen this one, I'll give it a try, thanks :)
wmmiller wrote:Ok. I should have said on a remote reboot. If I have the computer I just plug it in.
While performing an SR task?
If so, just add a 3rd party app with a netsh connect command after "reboot in safemode with networking" and it will connect before to continue.

On a side note (nothing to do with safemode but it could be usefull for you or anybody else, even in this case), to be sure i'm always connected before launching uvk (and because i'm lazy and don't want to do it manually ^^) I always start uvk by launching a batch file with that code on it :

Code: Select all

SETLOCAL enabledelayedexpansion
FOR /f "tokens=2 delims=:" %%i in ('netsh wlan show interfaces ^| findstr /i /c:"Nom"') DO (
	SET inter=%%i
	if EXIST "%~dp0wlan.xml" netsh wlan add profile filename="%~dp0wlan.xml" interface="!inter:~1!"
)
(of course it is only useful if you always work on the same wifi network, and you will have to export the profile of that network and put it in the same dir than the script or modify the path in the script)

PS: oh, and you probably would have to modify "Nom"' by "Name" (or what it is called in your language :) "Nom" is for french)
wmmiller
Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:02 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Windows 10 safe mode wireless networking

Post by wmmiller »

Thanks guys. What a pain in the butt. :roll:

Thanks Microsoft. Not so much. :twisted:
Play stupid games….win stupid prizes
Post Reply