Windws 10 \BCD error

This forum is intended for computer technicians only. Post IT related topics here.
Forum rules
We have no special rules for UVK forums. Just try to be polite and clear in your posts.
Please don't post spam in this forum. Spammers will be banned by IP, e-mail and username.
We reserve the right to delete all posts and ban all users we consider not having respected these rules without warning.
Post Reply
Charger440
Posts: 1528
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 7:44 am
Location: Missouri

Windws 10 \BCD error

Post by Charger440 »

If you get a "\BCD" error on Windows 10, it can be resolved by starting up to the console and doing the following:

Step 1, Boot the device and press F11 for system recovery.

Step 2, Under system recovery, select Advanced Options

Step 3 Under advanced options choose command prompt

Step 4, When you are at the command prompt run these options :-

Bootrec /fixMBR
bootrec /fixBoot
bootrec /rebuildBCD

Once done type exit.

Step 5, reboot as normal ......... and hopefully you'll be back in windows 10 with no lost of data.

Information shared from:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 0f7?auth=1
Jim

It is not "Can it be done?" but rather, "How can we do it?"
Chester170
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:44 pm

Re: Windws 10 \BCD error

Post by Chester170 »

I get this error on TTS. I don't know what tool is. Because when I do run it I run all the tools. I had to do an instalation pen instead of F11. Didn't know it works with F11 too, thanks Jim. I know that is a tool before avast antivirus intalation. Do you have any idea wich one? Thanks ;)
Charger440
Posts: 1528
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 7:44 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Windws 10 \BCD error

Post by Charger440 »

Bruno(?)

I really couldn't say for sure but that error is caused by corrupting the boot sector so I would look through the lost that you ran and see if any of the tools should have access to the boot sector and then go from there. I might also use the term "boot record" as with UEFI boot the boot "sector" is not necessarily in the first part of the drive like it used to be
Jim

It is not "Can it be done?" but rather, "How can we do it?"
Chester170
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:44 pm

Re: Windws 10 \BCD error

Post by Chester170 »

I know it's right before the AVs I just have to figure out wich one. Probably it's one tool that asks me for reboot. Right? Thanks
Charger440
Posts: 1528
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 7:44 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Windws 10 \BCD error

Post by Charger440 »

That could be. If it is rebooting then it wants access to files before Windows loads them so it possible it could be that one.
Jim

It is not "Can it be done?" but rather, "How can we do it?"
Chester170
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:44 pm

Re: Windws 10 \BCD error

Post by Chester170 »

Thanks for the help Jim :)
Charger440
Posts: 1528
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 7:44 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Windws 10 \BCD error

Post by Charger440 »

Your welcome even though I didn't give you any solid answers.
Jim

It is not "Can it be done?" but rather, "How can we do it?"
Post Reply